A Spiritual journey

Hello everyone!  On Friday I helped at the Acorn Centre and was pleased that I had been missed on the previous Friday.  I am beginning to feel better in myself, but I am easily tired.  I was absolutely shattered after my stint of helping at the Centre.  My sister Janet joined us for our evening meal, and it was good to see that she was in good form.  My beloved cooked the salmon in some creamy mushroom sauce, after soaking it in a flavoursome marinade overnight.  He served it with stir fried peppers, tomatoes, and mushrooms and pasta.  We were pleased that Janet enjoyed the meal; she is always very appreciative.  We all watched Coronation Street, as Janet had expressed the wish to see the demise of Vera Duckworth.  We do not usually watch Soaps, although the sudden death of Vera was tackled in a very sensitive way.  In particular her husband Jack played the part of a bereaved man very well.  My beloved had been struck by the death of the soap star Vera Duckworth being a discussion topic on PM on radio 4!  Soap stars seem to be regarded as real people by their viewers.  Janet was grateful to us for allowing her to watch it.  She was really moved by the death and wept, as of course she had also lost her husband, which made the loss more poignant for her.  It all seemed a little boring too me, but I have not watched soaps for years, so at least I will not feel compelled to get back into watching them.

 

One amusing incident when David was with us on Wednesday, was when suddenly the coffee cup handle decided to separate from the cup, as David held it and crash to the ground!!  What made it so funny was the expression on his face and I just found it so funny.  Fortunately he did not burn himself; he just lost the last drop of coffee.  It was so sudden and unexpected and I suddenly remembered it, as I was writing my thoughts down.

 

Whilst Janet was with us we also watched the final episode of the extreme pilgrim, when the Anglican vicar, Peter Owen spent three weeks alone in the desert.  It was the most demanding aspect of his pilgrimage and I was struck by how he had to get used to the solitary existence even without his film crew.  I was not surprised that he was somewhat daunted by the prospect, especially after father Lazarus had warned him of the threat of constant assaults by the devil and his demons.  He seemed to cope with the experience, and it will certainly have made a mark on his spiritual journey, especially as he came to terms with his failed marriage and his separation from his children. 

It was the nearest to a modern day reflection of the temptations Jesus faced in the wilderness after his baptism, when he worked out the nature of his ministry.  It was easy to see the unforgiving barren landscape which would have been the back drop to the temptations of our Lord.  It seemed to me amazing that the Bedouin could survive in such terrain, which they had been doing for centuries.  For me the worst part would have been the isolation, as I need people; I would have heard every slight noise and been unable to sleep at all.  Times of retreat can be helpful to take stock of my spiritual journey, but I would feel more supported with people nearby.  I am so thankful for being able to share my life with my beloved; it is just so special just to be able to look up and know he is there, and know that he can look up and see me.  He makes me feel complete.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Faith/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

