A productive and satisfying holiday

Hello everyone!  I have just had three days off work on holiday, and I shall go back to work for a rest!  My beloved has had a really productive time; he has painted the bathroom, the downstairs toilet and he has begun to paint the kitchen.  The work has been spread this week.  He worked all day after an early rising on the bathroom on Monday, and literally collapsed into bed at 7.30pm!  I went to my Bible Study in the evening.  Also I had not been idle whilst my beloved painted.  I was busy cleaning the kitchen and managed to clean two thirds of the kitchen, walls, tiles and the surfaces of the kitchen.  It remained freezing most of the day but the sun did break through.  It was lovely and bright.

 

I completed cleaning the kitchen on Tuesday, although we relaxed more, as it was our wedding anniversary, and we have been married for 8 years.  My beloved was absolutely shattered, so he rested and attempted no more decorating.  We watched some videos we had recorded in the afternoon, and we went out for a delicious meal at Luigi’s in the evening.  As I was driving down, we decided that I would have a soft drink with the meal, whilst my beloved had a glass of wine.  We were home not long after 7pm and we then shared a bottle of Duval-Leroy Champagne and relaxed and watched TV.  Oh, yes we had the lovely surprise of my younger daughter Cathy popping in for a cup of tea and a chat in the morning of our anniversary.  The sun did not make an appearance on Tuesday, but it looked beautiful with heavy frost revealing patterns in the greenhouse glass, and the intricate patterns of a spider’s web.  It was now a daily ritual to melt holes in the ice on the pond, so that the goldfish could get more air.  When we set off for the meal, the temperature, which the car registered was minus 2!  After the meal the temperature had improved to 0 degrees, but as I drove home, it started to plummet to minus 1, then quickly minus 2, and within a few minutes minus 4!!  We were glad to get home to keep warm by the fire. 

 

On Wednesday morning I found it difficult to get up too early, but set off to meet Beth, my elder daughter in town at 10am, whilst my beloved caught up on some much needed rest.  The world looked spectral as the trees were all frost laden and looked wonderful and the sun was shining.  I felt so exhilarated by the exquisite beauty around that I ran and kept thanking God for the beauty around me.  It was still very cold, but I did not mind.  We did some browsing round the shops and then went for a drink and cake together, as we were both on holiday.  I did some more cleaning in the afternoon and prepared for the Lenten group I was going to in the evening.  By the end of the day the temperature had risen to 4 degrees, and the cold spell was coming to an end.

 

Today I cleaned and prepared the downstairs cloakroom for painting, and I cleaned paintwork in the hall and on the landing, and used Henry to clean up the dust and bits.  The weather has deteriorated today as it has rained most of the day, although it is much milder.  I had a walk into town to get a few things, and I returned to find that my beloved had nearly finished the downstairs cloakroom and made a start on the kitchen.   I am glad that we have made so much progress.  Now I can relax with my beloved tonight, which I enjoy.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

