When I feel the touch

Hello everyone!  Yesterday I found I was able to move my arm a bit more easily, although I still have to rest it in a sling.  I found it a little easier to shower and even managed to do my own shoe laces up and get my tops on!  It was good that I had a good night’s sleep, but I found I was exhausted easily.  I walked across the stray to a friend to explain that I could not give her a lift this morning to church.  When I got home I felt so tired, that I realised that I was still rather tired after the shock I had given to my system, when I fell!  It was good to see a deep purple bruise emerging on the underside of my right arm yesterday and today a less vivid bruise over my elbow!  It shows that it is healing now, which is excellent.  I am fortunate that I was only really bruised with a pulled muscle instead of breaking my arm!

 

This morning I was brought to the church, where I was leading the service, as it was in a village church, and I cannot drive till at least tomorrow.  I love to have the opportunity to share how much Jesus means to me, and remind them that he is always with us and interceding for us.  I chose a song of fellowship to sing 4 times to lead into the prayers of intercession, which is a particular favourite of mine; it was ‘When I feel the touch’.

 

‘When I feel the touch

Of Your hand upon my life,

It causes me to sing a song

That I love You, Lord.

So from deep within

My spirit singeth unto Thee,

You are my King, You are my God,

And I love You, Lord.’

 

I found the song of fellowship uplifting, as we all need the touch of Jesus in our lives. Roots Worship suggested props for the prayers of intercessions.  I introduced the props at the beginning of the service; a complete world atlas to symbolise the world in need of Jesus, faced by natural disasters, incurable diseases, war and conflict using the words, Lord of creation, may your will be done; the Bible to symbolise the good news Jesus commissioned his disciples and us to share with a needy world and enable us to support those who are persecuted for their faith; the third prop was my mobile phone, which symbolised our ability to be able to communicate with people at the other side of the world and reach those in need, ( I remember one Christmas day, when Cathy rang us from the top of a mountain in the Caribbean to wish us happy Christmas!); a dictionary to symbolise the words we use to communicate, and enable us to pray for those who cannot speak or those who speak in a language that we do not understand and ask for a heart that understands and arms that can embrace; and a passport which symbolises each of us made in the image of God, and helps us to accept those who are different from us as our brothers and sisters in Jesus.  I found these symbols helped me focus on those many issues and people, who need our prayer at this time.  I feel so encouraged that Jesus is with us to support and help us in our journey of life; he helps us have wisdom in how we share our faith with others.

 

I told the story of a Red Indian boy, who was old enough to become a man in the tribe; but before he could become a man he had to spend a night alone in the forest.  His big brother took him into the forest to a clearing, and as the darkness fell, his brother left him.  In the darkness, the boy, who we shall call Tommy, could hear every sound and see every shadow around him looking sinister, (it reminded me of being a child in the big old Victorian house I grew up in Harrogate, when I would rush downstairs, with my heart in my mouth, top speed ahead to the light, as there were so many dark and menacing crannies around me).  He heard the owl hoot and twigs cracking and although he was terrified and longed to run back home, he knew he must stay where he was.  The night seemed so long to Tommy, and I can just imagine that, as last Wednesday night seemed to pass so slowly when I was in such pain with my arm.  At last the light started to come and he could see the grass and bushes near him, and then he noticed a figure in the dark, so he did not move a muscle!  A shaft of early morning sun lit the figure up and he recognised that it was his brother!  He had been with him all night although he thought he was alone!  Jesus is like our big brother, as he has shown us that God is our father, and although we do not now see him, he is always with us, holding our hand and carrying us when the times are most difficult. 

 

Today Cathy joined us for lunch.  She is very tired at the moment, as life has a lot of challenges for her and her partner.  She is waiting to be referred to Leeds plastic surgeons for her leg to be operated on; she has a lesion, which has grown to the full length of one of her muscles on her calf, since it was triggered by an accident, when she jumped over a stream.  When she had her first MRI scan more than a year ago they thought she had a haematoma, but when she went back to the hospital earlier this year, as the pain had been getting worse, for a second MRI scan the doctors realised that it was a lesion.  The Harrogate doctors do not feel they are competent to deal with it, so she has been referred to Leeds.  She has yet to hear from Leeds.  I do hope she hears soon.

 

My beloved prepared delicious chicken casserole with his special roast potatoes for lunch and we enjoyed some wine, a Pleitersheimer Sternberg 2006, Müller-Thurgau wine, which we had received as a Christmas gift from Pieroth, the wine company from whom we do buy wines we have tasted first.  It is lovely to be enjoying today with my beloved and it should restore me to full health having Monday off as well.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Faith/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I feel the touch

  1. rebekah says:

    amaaaaazing how god works isnt it?

Leave a Reply

