Sunday contrasts

Hello everyone!  It has been another wet day, although it was not as wet as yesterday, when I got so soaked that I had to change my clothes when I returned home!  This morning I walked to church, as my passenger May, does not like to come on the first Sunday of the month, when we have communion, even though there is no compulsion for her to participate.  I took my umbrella as I wanted to avoid getting as wet as yesterday. 

 

I was reading our local paper and saw that my sister Janet had been awarded a bronze medal in the June competitions, which is great!  I really do take my hat off to her for her determination and sheer slog to improve!  I hope I have half her energy in ten years time!  She is definitely an example to me.  I do walk as much as I can and tend to speed along down Leeds road into town.  I use the car to go to work, shop and take my beloved places; otherwise I walk by preference, although I usually end up running as I am often last minute!!  I always used to be in good time for everything as I was brought up in a fairly regimented home.  We had breakfast at 8 O’clock, lunch at 12 O’clock, afternoon tea at 4 O’clock and supper at 7 O’clock, when the gong went as the tune for the end of the Archers played on the radio.  We were summoned to meals with a gong, so I got used to regularity as I grew up.  On Sundays there was the variation of a walk through the Valley Gardens at 3 O’clock.  I then married Stephen, who also was obsessed by time keeping, so I was always on time, usually early.  However my beloved is much more laid back and now I tend to rush to get to places.  I enjoy being more relaxed with my beloved.  Now the atmosphere at home is really tense!  Why?  Well, my beloved is watching the compelling final between Federer and Nadal, which keeps him on the edge of his seat.  I am trying not to watch it as it too tense for me. 

 

It is helping me to relax now that Cathy has come over, as I can feel the tension, even though I have not been really watching the match.  There is now a breather, as the match has been rained off!!  I think that it is Nadal’s turn to win this year, as he has really played so excellently that he has so far overwhelmed Federer; he deserves to win.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday contrasts

  1. Unknown says:

    We still have that very same gong. I always remember it being used by our grandmother back in the 1940s and 1950s. Then it went to our parents – and now to us. And yes, we do still try and summon folk for meals with it.
    Selwyn42

  2. Helen says:

    Hi Selwyn
    Fancy you having that gong!  Well you are carrying on the family tradition!  Father would approve!

Leave a Reply

