Why I like to help

Hello everyone!  I am enclosing the questions I answered for a feature in our local paper, ‘The Harrogate Advertiser’ called, ‘Why I like to help’ to promote the Acorn Centre, where I volunteer, for your interest.

Q. Describe yourself in 10 words.

 

I have an outgoing, caring, patient and somewhat scatty disposition.

 

Q. Tell us two things you love and two things you hate.

 

I hate injustice and prejudice, (even my own).  I love working with people and reading.

 

Q. Tell us about the organisation you volunteer for?

 

The Acorn Centre has a variety of opportunities including education, creative arts, music group and drop in facilities.   We are open six days a week including bank holidays for anyone over 18, who suffers from any kind of mental health problem.  People can just give the centre a ring or call in.

 

Q. What do you enjoy most about volunteering?

 

I most enjoy seeing people improve in confidence and being a part of that.

 

Q. What do you find most challenging?

 

What I find most challenging is recognising my own limitations of recall when attempting to explain some of the information and skills I have learnt here.

 

Q. Tell us a little about your life outside volunteering?

 

Former teacher, currently working part-time in a doctor’s surgery, Methodist Local Preacher, enjoy walking and wine.

 

Q. What advice would give to anybody who was considering being a volunteer?

 

You need to have a lot of patience, a sense of humour and some degree of understanding to be able to encourage the people you help.

 

Q. And finally, how does volunteering make you feel fantastic?

 

Having been helped by the Centre myself, following a breakdown, it is so rewarding to be able to reciprocate the help.

 
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

