It is good to know the results

Hello everyone!  Today has been a good day, crisp, bright and sunny after a frosty night.  I had to de-ice the car this morning, as I was taking my beloved to the doctor for his MRI results.  We now know that he has a 12mm herniated disc at level L4/5, which is why he has been in such pain.  It is a relief in a way to know what the problem is, but on the other hand we now realise that there is no quick solution.  A back operation is a possibility, but that could make it worse or cause other problems, so my beloved’s doctor advised continued use of painkillers, only resorting to an operation if the pain increases to such an extent that it is totally restricting activity, and/or making walking difficult or impossible.  Otherwise he will need to rest his back more and not overdo activity as he already does. Fortunately the pain is more controlled now with the medication and he seems to be able to hobble short distances with me, if need be. 

 

After I brought him home from the doctor’s I set off to walk to Berwick Grange MHA, where I was leading a service for the residents.  I enjoyed the walk on this crisp cold day.  The service is only about 20 minutes in length, including three hymns, as even those who are not totally with it, can relate to the hymns.  I hope it was helpful to them.  I enjoyed sharing with them and smiling with them.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad of it.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

