A time to relax with family

Hello everyone!  It has been a lovely weekend with quite a bit of sunshine, as well as being pleasantly warm.  I was busy on Friday at the Acorn Centre, as term has started again.  I was able to write most of my sermon for today, and complete it and my service on Saturday morning.  Then I went to town for candle wax treatment to my ears, which has helped clear my sinusitis; it even confirmed that my sinuses were blocked on the right side.  Today I complete my course of antibiotics and am well on the mend.  It is a relief to be able to breathe more easily, and I no longer have to sleep on such a high pillow.  I could even make some attempt at singing this morning when I led worship at Pannal chapel.  I found the prayers for peace suggested for this Sunday were really excellent at summing up the main issues facing us in our world day.  I often find that prayers written by others express issues better than I can.  It was good to have a good number of children there and the whole congregation, not just the children joined in with ‘Simon says’; they were much more skilled than me!  I then went on to say how easy it was to say what we believe and how we love others, as Jesus did, but do we show it by the way we live.  We can only do begin to care as Jesus did with his help.  If we considered others before ourselves, there would be no disputes or war.  If we draw near to God, he will draw near to us, and He will help us to serve others as Jesus did.

 

This afternoon Cathy brought her Canadian friend Michelle, ‘Ellie’, to meet us and she was lovely, so pretty and such a lovely natured young woman.  She enjoyed seeing photos of Cathy as a toddler, and videos of Cathy’s first cousins once removed.  It was good to see Cathy even for just a short time.  It is lovely now to relax with my beloved. This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A time to relax with family

  1. Malcolm says:

    "It is lovely now to relax with my beloved" …. DITTO!

  2. Unknown says:

    how on earth does candle wax treatment to the ears (whatever that consists of!) help a sinus infection? Is this a medical breakthrough that I need to know about?!Selwyn42

  3. Helen says:

    Hi Selwyn! Probably not a medical breakthrough, but it is a most relaxing form of alternative therapy, which has actually helped clear my sinuses, so that I am sleeping better. So for whatever reason I find it beneficial

Leave a Reply

