A lovely sunny day

Hello everyone!  Today is beautiful with a clear blue sky and
bright sunshine after a sharp frost last night; it makes me feel extra good to
be alive!  This morning I drove over to
Killinghall to lead a service at the chapel and it was uplifting to drive
through the lovely countryside bathed in sunshine.  It was lovely to see some children there this
morning, two lovely families, who responded well to my children’s address and
gave me some beautiful smiles.  I had a
children’s storybook, which is the original German version to use to illustrate
my children’s talk.  It is the story of
‘Hans Guck-in-die-Luft’, ‘Hans look up in the air’ or Hans head in the clouds;
it describes a boy who thought he was better than other people so he always
walked along with his nose in the air. 
The trouble was he did not look where he was going so he fell over a dog
and walked onto the pier and fell splash into the water, giving the fish a
shock!!  Fortunately for him two men were
coming by and hooked him out of the water so he was dripping wet.  The fish laughed as his bag swam on and we
hope he learnt then to look where he was going! 
It is so easy to see the faults of other people, but to forget our own
failings; Paul reminds us in 1Corinthians10v12 ‘Whoever thinks he is standing
firm had better be careful that he does not fall.’  I remembered an incident that happened when I
was a child when I jumped without looking; I saw a rope round an area and it was
an invitation to me to jump over it, so I did; I jumped over the rope into the
drying concrete and out of it!!  I still
cannot remember my mother’s reaction, but I don’t think she was pleased!! I
always leapt before I thought, so I was often in trouble!  No one is perfect.  We all fall short and cannot make ourselves
perfect; we need the help of Jesus and the grace of God.

 

This afternoon I
enjoyed chopping back dead growth in the garden in the lovely sunshine and
helped my beloved heave out an overgrown plant, which did not want to be
moved.  It was lovely to enjoy the
sunshine and tidy up the garden a bit with my beloved.  Yesterday it was wet and miserable, so today
has been a treat.  It was lovely to chat
to Cathy on Skype this afternoon too; it makes her seem to be in the same room
and not as far away in Switzerland.  I
also had a chat with Beth on the phone, which was good.  Now I am relaxing with my beloved.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I
rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Faith/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lovely sunny day

  1. Unknown says:

    Surely this story of Hans was one of the poems in Strewellpeter (?spelling)Selwyn42

Leave a Reply

