Lord Jesus help us to listen to you in our hearts and as we read the Bible

Hello everyone! I have had a busy week at work but I have felt more relaxed this week, especially after having a lovely chat with Roy and Jacqui on Wednesday, friends my beloved met at Open Church at St Mark’s Church. They had had a lovely chat at Open Church a couple of weeks before and walked in the same direction as my beloved, so he invited them in for a drink. Malcolm was so impressed with them that he told me a lot about them and I was keen to meet them. A week last Friday, as the computer course had finished, I was at home with my beloved, and he told me that his friends would be in Open Church that Friday. We then went to meet them and arrived together, but they were busy talking to others as were we, so they were coming to join us later, but it took them longer than they thought to decorate the tree at church. We arranged to meet last Wednesday and since that meeting, I have felt encouraged in my faith. Roy and his wife have both been healed from life threatening illnesses. They reminded us about the importance of really listening to God and what he says in his word; to listen attentively as we read his word. It has made me realise how much I have listen to things and I am now trying to concentrate more as I do my daily readings from the Bible. I am seeing things I have not seen before in the words. For example a passage I first read aloud as a child at St Peter’s School, well coached as always in projecting my voice by my father, from Ephesians 6, which encourages us to put on the Armour of God. In the version I read the other day I was saw a phrase I had missed before or maybe it was just that version; I had always thought it said put on the Helmet of Salvation and take the Sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God; this time I noticed it said accept the Helmet of Salvation and the Sword of the Spirit which is the word of God. Each day I am learning to do just that!

This entry was posted in Bible, Faith/Personal, Health and wellness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

