The Week before Easter

Holy Week began with Palm Sunday last week but I was working on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday as usual but I had a busy day on Wednesday.  I had my car repaired on Wednesday as I had had a minor bump on the previous Sunday, but the garage man very kindly gave me a lift home, as it was so cold.  As Beth had a day off she very kindly took me shopping and gave me a lift down to collect my car; what would we do without the helpfulness of family. I am very fortunate.  I was also pleased to be able to see my best friend Hilary; it was good to catch up with her news.  The weather and my tiredness had put off our usual monthly meal out and chat. 

As it was Good Friday the Acorn Centre was closed and there was no computer course.  I was pleased to go Wesley Chapel for the Good Friday meditation. The service began with the Lenten Candle Liturgy for Good Friday introduced by the following words:

‘This was the darkest day in history. The Son of God himself was killed by people who weren’t satisfied simply to reject him; they couldn’t stand to have him exist. They thought they could put God out of existence.’  Then excerpts from Mark 15v22-24; Acts 7v51-53; Acts 2v22, 23; Isaiah 53v4-6 were read as the final candle was extinguished.  Then our minister Trevor Dixon and our deacon David Hunt shared the leadership of the service, being the leader and/or the narrator, whilst we members of the congregation took the roles of those at the crucifixion.  The service began with the response which was based on Isaiah;

All we like sheep have gone astray; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all. Then we sang the first verse of the spiritual;

‘Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Sometimes it causes to tremble, tremble, tremble;

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?’

The first voice from the crowd at the crucifixion was the householder who felt he should have spoken out to stop Jesus dying.  The second voice was the servant girl, who felt guilty that she had done nothing to stop the condemnation of Jesus, especially as he had healed her little sister.  The third voice was Barabbas which I read and he felt the judgment on Jesus had been wrong; he could not believe he had been freed as he knew he was guilty.  Barabbas knew that Jesus had taken the punishment which was rightly his.   The fourth voice was Simon of Cyrene who felt as he was black he was the obvious choice to be made to carry the cross.  He saw how brutal the treatment was meted out to Jesus when he could tell that Jesus had done nothing wrong; he wondered if he could have done anything to stop them.  The fifth voice was the soldier who could sense that this crucifixion was different from the usual crucifixions but he excused his part as he was simply doing his job!  The final voice was Mary the mother of Jesus who realised that it was now that seeing her son die on the cross that the prediction that a sword would pierce soul was being fulfilled.

The prayers used the steps of the passion of Jesus to focus on those suffering in similar ways and the Lord’s Prayer.  The service closed as we sang; ‘Meekness and Majesty.’  I found it a profound and thoughtful service.

On Saturday I had a lovely massage before returning to relax with my beloved.   

This entry was posted in Bible, Faith/Personal, Family, Miscellaneous/Personal, Music and Musicals, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

