Worship at Berwick Grange and other activities

On Wednesday October 28th I led worship at Berwick Grange MHA. We began by singing, ‘Praise, my soul, the King of heaven;’ before I led the prayers of praise, confession, intercession and the Lord’s Prayer. I read from Mark 10.46-52 before we sang, ‘Amazing grace, how sweet the sound.’
I then asked the elderly people to close their eyes and imagine what it would be like not to able to see. I then sat down, as though I was blind Bartimaeus, and I described how I could hear the crowd of people coming past me. I was used to hearing a general hubbub of conversation but on that occasion I could hear a man’s voice, so I asked who it was. When I was told it was Jesus of Nazareth passing by, I decided to call out to him and ask him to help me. The crowd told me to shut up as the Rabbi was talking, but I did not want him to pass me by, so I shouted even louder, Son of David help me. Then I was really excited to hear Jesus ask them to call me and heard them telling me to cheer up, and get up as Jesus was calling me. I leapt up throwing off my cloak and ran to Jesus and Jesus asked me what I wanted him to do for me. I replied that I wanted to see again. At once I could see again and just had to follow Jesus along the way; I just wanted to be near Jesus.
After acting out the story I said that the cloak would have been vital for the blind man to keep him warm at night and to keep the heat off during a day. He must have realised he would no longer needed after he saw Jesus. We then sang ‘Jesus, lover of my soul’ to conclude the act of worship. I went round touching each person and blessing them. Touch is very important when people are no longer able to communicate.
On Thursday afternoon Brian came and we had a time of prayer praying for the needs around us and for our chapels. It was a time of blessing when we prayed together.
On Friday I had my flu jab at the local chemist as I am not entitled to a free jab until 2017. I have found I have kept fitter in the last few years since having the jab, initially having had them when I worked in the doctor’s surgery. This year I did not have as much reaction as I had had last year.
On Saturday I drove over to take Beth shopping at Sainsbury’s after she had been so generous to me when I couldn’t drive. After shopping we had a drink and cake at Sainsbury’s. I then enjoyed a relaxing weekend with my beloved.

This entry was posted in Bible, Faith/Personal, Family, Miscellaneous/Personal, Music and Musicals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

