Our Bible Study Group

On Monday December 21st we had our final Bible Study of the year, which concluded our Philippians study. We had a lively discussion as usual.  As it was the day after Geoffrey’s birthday and would be Rosemary’s birthday on Christmas Eve we shared chocolate cake. Rosemary gave the opening prayers and Molly led the concluding prayers. Our discussion focussed on the Bible verses about working together in community and having someone to act as a mediator where differences of opinion were harming their witness. It contains one of my favourite passages, which my mum gave when I was not happy as a teenager to help me focus on these verses from Philippians 4.6-7 – ‘Do not be anxious about anything, present your requests to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.’
The next verse focuses on how thinking good thoughts will enable the peace of God to fill our hearts. When I was recovering from a complete breakdown, Hazel at the Acorn Centre kept telling me to change the negative tape playing in my head for a positive one, but at the time I felt that was easier said than done. However as I have recovered I recognise the wisdom of her advice and also how Paul understood that 2000 years ago. I do find it helps to focus on positive things to lift my spirit, in particular the chorus, ‘Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so; little ones to Him belong, they are weak but He strong. Yes, Jesus loves, yes Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so!’
Only at the end of his letter did Paul actually thank the Philippians for their generous gift to him to help support him in his imprisonment. He had however learnt to be content in all circumstances, as he knew what it was to be in need, and to have plenty. Why could he be so content? He knew that he could do everything through Him [that is Christ] who gave him strength. Finally he sent his greetings to all the saints in Christ Jesus. Yes, we are all called to be saints through Jesus Christ who strengthens us, so may the grace of the Lord Jesus be with your spirit, Amen. Even though my beloved and I prepare to lead the Bible Study, it is amazing how much more we learn as we share together. God is indeed good!

This entry was posted in Bible, Faith/Personal, Family, Food and drink, Miscellaneous/Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Bible Study Group

  1. selwyngoodacre says:

    re: the Philippians verse – I love the version by Purcell of these verses – ‘Rejoice in the Lord alway’ – one of my absolute favourite choruses. I remember singing the alto (as a counter tenor) at University

  2. helenbeech says:

    I love that chorus too, although my singing would not match your lovely tenor voice. I love to hear you sing.

Leave a Reply

