Prayer, Worship and Singing in preparation for Christmas

On Monday December 5th I went out with my best friend Hilary to the Table Table Restaurant, where we could catch up on our news and exchange Christmas presents.  I also gave Hilary her belated birthday present.  We had a lovely chat.  It is always relaxing when we see each other.

On Tuesday December 6th I went to the New Wine group which I found very relaxing and helpful, as we sang some modern Christian songs and had times of prayer.

On Thursday December 8th we joined with Forward Together [a drop in which provides a reasonably priced meal weekly for anyone who is lonely or vulnerable or both] for their Christmas dinner which was delicious, I love having Christmas dinner. We then had our Guild Christmas Carol service up in the Church.  Lynn, as our co-ordinator and organiser planned out the service.  People in our group suggested favourite carols for us to sing.  Lynn read some amusing children’s quotations and faux pas in nativity plays.  She read an old article about the hospital in 2005 by David Hoskins in which he reduced the nativity story to 90 words and 30 seconds long. We sang, ‘Let earth and heaven combine.’  Les read the announcement of the birth of Jesus as recorded in Luke 1. 26 onwards before we sang, ‘O little town of Bethlehem.’ Les led the prayers before we sang, ‘Love came down at Christmas.’  Gladys read from Luke 2.1-7 about the birth of Jesus.  We sang ‘Cradled in a manger lowly’ before Frank read a poem.  He also read from Rudyard Kipling’s ‘Eddie’s Service’.  Barbara our pianist chose ‘It came upon a midnight clear’  The  next reading was from Luke 2.8 onwards about the shepherds and the angels.  We then sang, ‘Wise men seeking Jesus’ and my late husband’s favourite, ‘In the bleak midwinter.’  I chose one of my favourites which is ‘Silent night, holy night.’  It was a lovely time of worship.

This entry was posted in Bible, Faith/Personal, Food and drink, Miscellaneous/Personal, Music and Musicals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer, Worship and Singing in preparation for Christmas

  1. selwyngoodacre says:

    lovely to read another blog – I have felt bereft for the last three weeks, wondering when Helen would burst into blog again!

  2. helenbeech says:

    I am beginning to catch up now. I have had a nasty cold and needed to rest; it lasted 2 weeks. I had only just got my service ready for yesterday late on Saturday night. as I was so behind.

Leave a Reply

