Our fireplace, surround and fire are fitted

Hello everybody!  Today has been a busy day as we have been preparing for the arrival of our new fireplace and fire in our lounge.  I got up in good time to clear the room for the workmen.  They arrived later than we were expecting, as one of their vans’ engines blew up, so they had to manage with just one van!  Once they arrived they were very efficient and soon had the fireplace fitted and then the fire; all through the fitting they kept us informed of changes they were making, and called us to explain how to hook off our mantle piece for decorating and how to light our new fire.  They cleaned up everything, so there was no real mess, which was excellent.

 

I drove over to pay the balance for the fire, and surroundings; then we had to remove the rubbish to the tip.  However two bags of rubble were too heavy for us to lift, so we moved some of the contents of the rubble bags and divided it between two other bags, so that we could lift the bags into the car.  My beloved salvaged some brick pieces to use in our garden.  He also put the blocks, through which the flames burnt, into the garden to become homes for insects.  I then drove to the tip and asked for help to move the rubble into the skip and one man came straight over to help me, so I soon got the stuff unloaded.  I began to reorganise the rooms again and move things back in place.  I was still sorting when my beloved suggested that we go for a Chinese take away, which I thought was a really good idea.  We soon had our meal and then we finished putting everything back in place.  I also whizzed round with the vacuum and everything looks good now. 

 

We love the fire and fireplace, but my beloved is very annoyed, as he cannot get the fire registered on line, as all that comes up to register is boilers!!  We shall have to try to phone to register in the morning when the phone line is open again.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

 

I am posting this today Wednesday 20th as thunder and lightening last night meant we had to disconnect our modem and internet connection.  I have now registered the new fire over the phone, and I explained about the difficulties of trying to register on line, and that the phone line was not open 24 hours, as the brochure said, but 12 hours from 8am till 8pm!  Neil on the phone was so helpful that I felt totally confident in him; apparently the web site had been updated in January and broken!  He was surprised to hear it was still not working!!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment