A family celebration

Hello everyone!  I have had a busy two days so I did not get time to go on the computer yesterday. On Wednesday I was busy all day cleaning and tidying up, whilst my car was being serviced and having the MOT done.  I had booked it in the previous week but I forgot all about it, so I had it done a week later!  The garage owner was really forgiving and told me not to worry about it!  I knew I would be able to collect the car after 5pm, but I became absorbed in my sorting and forgot!  Fortunately Kevin Newby rang me up to remind me to collect the car!  He must see me as the scatty person I am!! 

 

That evening I was meeting my best friend for a meal at Pizza Hut, and it was good to catch up with our news.  As I was driving to pick her up, I was surprised to see the speedometer going much faster than I expected.  I struggled to keep to 30mph, as I am very law abiding, but it felt so slow, that I was puzzled.  I usually get the feel of how the car is going, as I change up to 4th gear, but now I had to keep in 3rd gear!  Many cars were passing me, and I felt better going at 35-38 as a speed.  I got to Hilary’s and asked her if she felt the car was going too slowly, as I thought the speedometer had broken.  She agreed immediately and was initially puzzled, but she had a brainwave and asked me if it was kilometres per hour, and it was!!  I was so thrilled and relieved and then drove 40-45kmh and it felt correct!  On my return home I told my beloved and he looked at the car manual, and soon found how to turn it back to miles per hour, and with a quick touch of a button all was back to normal! 

 

Yesterday, I worked all day and then picked my daughter Beth up from her home, as it was her birthday and we were going out for a meal.  She brought her presents to our house, so she could open them with us.  She was really pleased with her gifts and we all had a cup of tea and chatted.  We had booked the meal for 8pm, as Cathy would not be able to join us till later, as her she worked later.  Malcolm enjoyed seeing Beth’s enjoyment.  In the event Cathy arrived earlier than expected and my beloved felt up to coming with us, as he had not been sure if he would cope.  We were all so pleased that he could come too, as it made it a real family occasion.  Cathy was chauffeur for us all as Beth and I did not need to drive on Friday, so we could enjoy a glass or two of vino, but Cathy would be working as usual.  [I walk into town to help at the Acorn Centre on a Friday and Beth had Friday off too, so she did not need to be up at crack of dawn; that is 4am onwards when she is the first baker in! ] We had a lovely meal, which was even more special as we had not been out together for years to Luigi’s, as my beloved could not cope with the stress of eating in a restaurant in the evening.  We had some good laughs together.  The meal was delicious and the atmosphere convivial.  As we were eating, a young lady had a birthday on a table near us, and the staff came with some ice cream with candles and sang, ‘Happy birthday’ in a raucous and enthusiastic way!  It was great and all of us applauded!  We also told the staff that it was Beth’s birthday, so at the end of the meal, they came and sang to her!  It made her day! 

 

Now I am relaxing with my beloved by our fire and all is well with the world.  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment