Thank you God for making me ‘me’

Hello everyone!  Today is a lovely day; warm, bright and sunny.  We had a lovely harvest service this morning.  The children were kept happy, as they had pictures to colour in; it was in preparation for the children’s song, ‘If I were a butterfly’.  They were supposed to join in the actions, but the Sunday school leaders mostly did that!  They were good at waving their pictures in the air.  We, adults had to look at the animal pictures next to the music to see any mistake, funny animal or an animal missing.  I saw the funny animal, which was a wriggly worm, who wore glasses!  I thought the ‘animal’ missing would be the human one, me, and I was correct.   I could not see which animal was wrong, but it was apparently an alligator, not a crocodile!  Our minister had brought in a large box, which, he said, contained a wild animal in the form of a balloon.  The children loved opening the box to reveal a helium butterfly!  My friend, May and I did not consider that a wild animal!  The children loved that and the other helium balloons!  The point of the story was that it is not the outside which is important, but what is inside.  He told us  about a man, who was helping with the young people, but he had an odd nose and funny ears, and our minister was concerned that he might be made fun of for his looks.  However the young folk loved him, as he was an excellent climber and outdoor activity instructor, and he opened a new world to them!  They did not notice how he looked!  The message I received from that was that I thank God for making me ‘me!’  It does not matter what I look like on the outside, but how I am inside.  I know God loves me just as I am; I just wish that everyone could realise how much God loves them as they are, too!  This is the day that the Lord has made and I rejoice and am glad in it. 
This entry was posted in Faith/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank you God for making me ‘me’

  1. pookie says:

    aawww use to love that song forgot the words now take care x

  2. Helen says:

    Thanks for the comment.  So glad you liked the song; it was lovely to see the children enjoying it.

  3. Unknown says:

    What on earth is a helium butterfly?  Unlike Pookie I never liked that song – there is a verse in it about fuzzy wuzzy hair – which could be embarrassing if there were a black child in the congregation, with fuzzy hair.
    Selwyn42

Leave a comment